ARROW logo Apalachicola Region Resources on the Web (ARROW)
(image - blue bar under menu)
Almanac - History Almanac - Planning Almanac - Geology Almanac - Biology
Stories, Maps,
& Photos
People, Land Use,
& Water Resources
Land, Weather,
& Water
Animals, Plants,
& Habitats
Regional History
History of Timbering
County Histories
Calhoun County
Franklin County
Gadsden County
Gulf County
Jackson County
Liberty County
Wakulla County

Oral Histories

History: Counties
Looking into the past

The seven counties in the Apalachicola Region Resources on the Web (ARROW) project are Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Jackson, Liberty, and Wakulla. The size and shape of some of these counties have changed over the years. The year in which each county was established varies as well. Regardless, each county's history is filled with intrigue, mystery, and "what-if" questions. But all of these historical events taken together make each county what each is today. There are fascinating stories and things to learn from reading the history about each of the seven counties on or near the Apalachicola River.

back to topback to top

This page was last modified on : 03/09/2005

Florida Natural Areas Inventory
1018 Thomasville Road
Suite 200-C
Tallahassee, Florida 32303
Phone: (850) 224-8207
Fax: (850) 681-9364